top of page
Search

Knit Now Issue 104 Spot the Dog



Kate at Knit Now asked me if I would be interested in designing a Spot the Dog sweater for the magazine. I always say yes as I love the opportunity to recreate characters in the chart style that works with knitting patterns. Spot was really fun to make, I like to include the black outline of characters in with the chart rather than backstitching the outline afterwards. This is just a personal preference, I'm not a sewer and I like how thick the outline is when knitted in.

This jumper was knitted in Stylecraft Special DK. I like to recommend this yarn when I publish my charts on Loveknitting. This is because it is an affordable yarn(perfect when buying yarn to knit charts with), knits with good definitions and comes in a great range of colours. When I was picking the perfect colours for Spot the yellow (mustard) was an easy choice but I was surprised that the spot looked best in Claret a red shade it looked vivid compared to using a brown and when it's with the yellow it gives the perfect Spot the dog, spot colour.

The Spot pattern is actually included in the Simple Baby Knits Book Supplement included with Knit Now Mag this month. This book is on nice thick quality paper and had lots of amazing stylecraft baby knits inside, I like the Bambino Cable Cardi the best! Issue 104 includes some fantastic patterns my favourites being the " Sail Away Beach Bag" I love the different textures! and the Conchology Cushion which is fair isle - a technique I have yet to master!

Here's where to find the magazine: Knit Now Issue 104 is on sale from 27th June 2019 in shops across the UK. To find your nearest stockist, visit www.seymour.co.uk - or order online from www.moremags.com. You can also purchase a digital edition of the magazine via the PocketMags app.

Main image provided by Knit now

49 views0 comments
bottom of page