top of page
Search

Knit Now Issue 95 Shaun the Sheep

Updated: Jan 10, 2019


I was ask to produce a Shaun the sheep chart for Knit now a few month ago. This is the first famous character sweater I have ever designed so I was extra excited. I decided to make the chart bigger than my usual INSTARSIA charts as it is a one off design especially for Knit Now magazine, which was a great decision as he came out so smart. The pattern comes in 6 sizes: 2-3 (4-5, 6-7, 8-9, 10-11, 12-13) years, I knitted the 2nd size for the magazine to photograph. This was while I was on holiday with my mother, father and grandma who actually helped me out by knitting the back of the jumper for me, she's a star.

This jumper was knitted in West Yorkshire Spinners, The Croft Shetland Aran. The yarn was nice but there were quite a few spots where the yarn got unusually thin and there was a fair number of knots, which seems to be quite common in British yarn from what I have used. The colours were really nice and rich and a good selection to pick from.

This months issue of knit now is the first one that comes in a cardboard box, which is a great from the usual plastic bag, you can actually see the magazine cover, what comes with the mag and the patterns in the issue are clearly displayed on the back, There are still a couple of plastic packets holding the free gifts inside which isn't necessary in a box you cant even see though. I really hope the box is here to stay as it is much better for the environment than the big plastic bag.

Here's where to find the magazine: Knit Now Issue 96 is on sale from 29th November in shops across the UK. To find your nearest stockist, visit www.seymour.co.uk - or order online from www.moremags.com. You can also purchase a digital edition of the magazine via the PocketMags app.

Main image provided by Knit now

40 views0 comments
bottom of page